The National Land Use Planning Commission Act, 2007 (Tanzania)



The National Land Use Planning Commission Act creates the National Land Use Planning Commission (NLUPC) whose most significant functions are to prepare regional physical land use plans, formulate land use policies for implementation by the government and to specify standards, norms and criteria for protection of beneficial uses and maintenance of the quality of land. As an advisory organ, the NLUPC is also to recommend measures to ensure that government policies, including those for the development and conservation of land, take adequate account of their effects on land use (§4(d)), stimulate public and private participation in programmes and activities related to land use planning for the national beneficial use of land (§4(e)), and seek advancement of scientific knowledge of changes in land use and encourage the development of technology to prevent or minimize adverse effects that endanger man's health or welfare. Section 2 of the Act defines a "beneficial use" as "a use of land that is conducive to public benefit, welfare, safety or health." To date, no additional land use standards have been made pursuant to the Act. Any business operating in a rural area will be expected to follow the conditions of the regional physical land use plan for the particular region. Zonal physical development plans include the Uhuru Corridor (1975-1978) Plan covering Coastal, Morogoro, Iringa and Mbeya regions; Lake Zone (1978-82) Plan covering Mwanza, Mara, Kagera and Shinyanga regions; and the Northern Zone (1992) covering Tanga, Kilimanjaro and Arusha regions. District plans prepared so far are those for Kiteto, Urambo, Masasi, Babati and Kondoa.